Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/dominica/public_html/plugins/system/advancedmodules/modulehelper.php on line 319

Dominican Republic: A unique and endless destination throughout the world.

Government and Territory

The Nation: Government and Territory


The Dominican Republic has a population of over 8.5 million people. Its territory is divided into 31 provinces plus the National Capital District of Santo Domingo. The country is a Democratic republic. Government is composed of three branches: executive, legislative and judicial. The country elects its president, vice president and legislators every four years by universal adult suffrage. The president, by constitutional mandate, appoints the governors, who are his representatives within the provinces. The legislative power is comprised by the Senate and the House of Representatives (one senator for each province and the national capital district, and a representative for every 50.000 inhabitants or a fraction greater than 25.000). The National Council of the Magistracy selects the members of the judicial power.

The country's capital, Santo Domingo de Guzmán, with a population of nearly 2.5 million, was founded by Don Bartolomé Colón on August 4, 1496. It is the oldest city of the New World.

Because of its key geographical position, the Dominican Republic has always been considered a strategic location for the hegemony of the continent and has been coveted by the great powers. It has been invaded and controlled at different times by Spain, France, England, Simon Bolivar's Gran Colombia, Haiti and the United States.


However, thanks to the unbridled patriotism of Juan Pablo Duarte, Francisco del Rosario Sánchez, and Ramón Matías Mella, the Founding Fathers, the nation won its independence and the Dominican Republic, as a free and sovereign state, was established on February 27th, 1844.

Located on La Hispaniola, the island beloved by the Great Admiral Christopher Columbus, as he himself stated in his diary ...the Dominican Republic's past is studded with historical events that showcase the most prominent figures of the Age of Discovery...This land of promise that was conquered and colonized by the Spaniards in 1492 continues to be, five centuries later, a new frontier that is full of opportunities and a true paradise for international tourism.

puerta-del-condeSo, welcome, visitors, to this old haven of the Americas, the original site of the conquest of the New World and Colombian civilizations. We invite you to browse in the secret drawers of this antique colonial cabinet, now five hundred years old, where relics of an era, very much the heritage of all of the Americas, still survive; it is also a source of pride for those who received the light of the Gospel under the influence of Spanish culture.