Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /home/dominica/public_html/plugins/system/advancedmodules/modulehelper.php on line 319

Dominican Republic: A unique and endless destination throughout the world.

Immigration and Customs Regulations

Documents: Arrival and Stay


Pursuant to Law No. 875 regarding Visa issuance, foreigners traveling to the Dominican Republic must hold among their traveling documents the adequate visa granted by Dominican embassies and councils accredited abroad.

Nevertheless, and for tourism purposes only, citizens of the following countries may enter the country as visitors, asking for a tourism card in the Dominican embassies and councils accredited abroad, when buying their air tickets or upon their arrival at the country, in its international ports and airports at a cost of US$10:
Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda (Bermuda), Australia (Cocos Islands, Nativity Island, Norfolk Islands), Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Cyprus, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark (Feroe Islands, Greenland), Dominica, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France (French Guyana, Martinique, Guadalupe, Reunion, Wallis Islands, Futuna, Mayotte, New Caledonia, French Polynesia), Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong (passport of the Special Administrative Region of Hong Kong of the Peoples Republic of China), Hungary, Ireland, Island, Italy, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kingdom of the Netherlands (Holland, Curacao and St. Martin), Kuwait, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Macao (passport of the Special Administrative Region of Macao of the Peoples Republic of China), Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Micronesia, Mexico, Monaco, Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand (Cook and Niue Islands), Netherlands (comprising Aruba, Holland, Curacao, St. Maarten, Bonaire, Saba, St. Eustatius), Nicaragua, Northern Mariana Islands, Norway (Greenland, Mayen, Svalbard), Panama, Paraguay, Papua New Guinea, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romany, Russia, St. Kitts and Nevis, Salomon Island, San Marino, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, St. Lucia, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Suriname, Thailand, Taiwan, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tokelau Islands, Turks and Caicos Islands, Turkey, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain (Akrotiri and Dhekelia, Anguilla, Bermudas, England, Guyana, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales, Gibraltar, Sandwich Islands, Caiman Islands, the Falklands, Montserrat), United States of America (including Guam, Hawaii, Palau I Island, American Samoa Island, Puerto Rico, St. John, St. Croix, St. Thomas), Vanuatu, Vatican City (the Holy See), and Venezuela.

This document allows visitors to stay for up to 30 days. If you wish to stay longer, it is important to request an extension in the General Direction of Migrations.


Citizens of the following countries may enter the country with no need of Visa or Tourism Card:
Argentina, Chile, South Korea, Ecuador, Israel, Japan, Peru and Uruguay; countries with which the Dominican Republic has entered into agreements regarding Visa issuance, as well as those people carrying diplomatic, service and official passports of: Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Chile, China (Taiwan), Colombia, South Korea, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Finland, Guatemala, Holy See, Honduras, Israel, Japan, Morocco, Mexico (except official passports), Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Russia, Switzerland (except official passports), Ukraine,Uruguay and Vietnam.

Immigration and Customs Regulations

Before arriving at the country's ports, airports or crossing the border, the international regulatory form should be filled out and given handed to immigration authorities upon arrival and departure.

Customs Regulations
Personal luggage or other personal items generally clear customs without much difficulty. You are entitled to bring 3 liters of liquor, 200 cigarettes, your laptop, and medication under prescription.

However, depending on where your flight originated, and on the "tourist sensibility" of the customs officer, you may either be waved through the entire process or undergo a cursory inspection of your luggage, with the full authorization of Dominican law.

If you are on a business trip, on vacation or traveling for health reasons, everything will undoubtedly turn out well. If, on the contrary, you are part of a group that is smuggling firearms, explosives, drugs or other illegal substances, you will probably find yourself face-to-face with an INTERPOL agent.

According to Act. 50-88 on drug enforcement in the Dominican Republic:

For the purposes of the present legislation, the following are defined as narcotic drugs:

  • Opium in all its forms and all its by-products (alkaloids, salts, compounds, synthetic preparations or replacements).
  • Heroin.
  • Coca (Erythroxylum Coca).
  • Cocaine, its by-products, synthetic replacements or any other compound whose base it is used as.
  • All plants of the Cannabinacea Family and those by-products having narcotic or stimulating properties, such as: Cannabis Indica, Cannabis Sativa, Marijuana and other herbs which present similar properties.

Severe sanctions are applied to those people who do not comply with the above-mentioned legal provisions.